Stumbling into adulthood

look-at-me-adulting-all-over-the-place

772 days.

That’s how long it’s been since I last posted here.

And, now, here I am again, sitting with my macbook in my lap, feeling the heat of the laptop fan on my thighs and flexing my knuckles as they arch over the keyboard, waiting for the words to come.

I want to do the thing.

I want to write.

But, these days, writing is a little different for me.

In the two years since I was last here, so much has changed.

I got my Master’s.

I moved out of my parents’ house.

I got my first big girl job, and then I got promoted.

I found the love of my life, and I married him.

I bought my first car.

I moved house and even bought my own washer and dryer.

I completed 5Ks, Dragon Boat races, and GoRucks.

I went to Disney World.

And, through all of that, I’ve been stumbling my way into adulthood without even realizing it.

As a kid, you think there’s a switch that flips, that makes you go from kid to adult. You think there’s going to be a point of no return, where you just recognize that this is the end of being young and the start of growing old.

But, it’s not like that.

Adulthood creeps up on you.

There’s a taste of it in that first lease you sign with your significant other.

There’s a dash of it in the first important meeting you have to solo lead at work.

There’s a tinge of it in that first time you purposefully schedule in a workout before a long work day.

Even so, it doesn’t dawn on you that you’re becoming an adult until the transition is well and done.

And, that’s when it hits you–congrats, you’ve officially done the thing.

Welcome to adulthood.

To be honest, I’m not really sure what I’m trying to say here.

For so long, this blog was my pet project. It was what I turned to to help me navigate the sometimes frigid, sometimes treacherous waters of getting through my teenage years and college days.

Now, after so long away, I’ve returned, but I’m different, and so is life.

But, what’s the same is that, right now, in this moment, I want to write.

I want to do the thing.

So here we are.

I had no clue what all would come before this, and I can only imagine what could possibly come next.

Leave a comment